

Digital Euro Market Advisory Group (MAG)

8 December 2023

MINUTES

13th MEETING OF THE DIGITAL EURO MARKET ADVISORY GROUP (MAG)

8 November 2023, 16:00 – 18:00 (CET)

Introductory remarks

Chair welcomed members and participants to the thirteenth Digital Euro Market Advisory Group (MAG) meeting which was held at ECB premises. A reordering of the agenda was approved.

The Chair emphasized the meeting would be a debrief of the Governing Council decision on 18 October and would be the last MAG meeting as per its mandate.

Debrief Governing Council: The digital euro high level design as basis for the next phase

The ECB presented the key aspects of the digital euro high level design as endorsed by the Governing Council after the investigation phase. Several members inquired on design choices and their relation to the legislative proposal by the European Commission, which were clarified by ECB.

Debrief Governing Council: The next project phase - high level timelines and overview

The ECB then presented a high level outlook on the next phase and its key milestones, including the finalisation of the scheme rulebook, the selection of potential service providers, and the support of the legislative process. The ECB also emphasized the Governing Council would decide on continuation of the preparation phase after a comprehensive assessment in two years' time. Members raised clarification questions and encouraged ECB to provide clarity on detailed planning to the market once possible.

Closing remarks and way forward

The Chair then thanked members for their participation and their dedication and expertise during the investigation phase. The Market Advisory Group members provided valuable input that went into the analyses and the review of these analyses enriched the design decisions. The Chair then concluded the last meeting of the Market Advisory Group.

ANNEX 1. LIST OF ATTENDEES OF THE 13th MEETING OF THE DIGITAL EURO MARKET ADVISORY GROUP (MAG) ON 8 November 2023

Chair: Ms. Evelien Witlox

Members

Aleksander Kurtevski Alessandro De Cristofaro Antonio Macías Vecino Axel Schaefer **Cristian Cengher** Cyril Vignet Diederik Bruggink **Etienne Goosse** Fanny Solano Fernando Rodriguez Ferrer **Gerard Hartsink** Inga Mullins Jens Holeczek Jochen Siegert Nicolas Kozakiewicz Nilixa Devlukia

Nils Beier Paul Le Manh Piet Mallekoote Regis Folbaum Ruth McCarthy Sam Hinton Smith Silvia Attanasio Sofia Lindh Possne Stefano Favale Teresa Mesquita Valdis Bergs Yves Blavet Ville Sointu

Observers

National Central Banks of the Eurosystem European Commission

ECB participants

Stephanie Bergbauer Mayte Arraez Ignacio Terol Maximilian Germann Daniel McLean Andrea Pinna Christian Schäfer